Author Topic: Cursor.Nif ?  (Read 4483 times)

Corpsie

  • Punk'd
  • Pul
  • *
  • Posts: 5171
  • G'Day Mate
Cursor.Nif ?
« on: January 30, 2005, 07:54:56 PM »
ok something weird just happened.

I was going through and putting some new heads and clothes and stuff into morrowind, finshed extracting and all that junk and went to load the game up only to get a "can not load meshs/Cursor.nif" "Cannot find Cursor.Nif" But I never remebr even seeing that file before I loaded all the pugins. So anyway thinking its something to do with these new plugins I go ahead and start unchecking them one bye one to see which one was causing the problem. Only to find out it isnt any of them, even with all plugins "not loaded" so to speak I still get the error. So I wondering if anyone can send me this file, or tell me where I can find it.

Email: wolstencroft@gmail.com

Cheers

lone_wolf

  • Pul
  • *
  • Posts: 5687
  • Member of the Crystal Obsidian army
    • My site for the grail
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2005, 08:00:40 PM »
that is strange. if i had the file i could send it but i dont :?
Currently playing what you see in my xfire profile



Corpsie

  • Punk'd
  • Pul
  • *
  • Posts: 5171
  • G'Day Mate
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2005, 08:01:55 PM »
yeah, i knew it wasnt there before.

I can tell this is going to give me a headache.

lone_wolf

  • Pul
  • *
  • Posts: 5687
  • Member of the Crystal Obsidian army
    • My site for the grail
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2005, 08:07:37 PM »
hope it resolves  :?  

anyway check your email for the house mod i use.
Currently playing what you see in my xfire profile



Corpsie

  • Punk'd
  • Pul
  • *
  • Posts: 5171
  • G'Day Mate
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2005, 08:10:51 PM »
yeah, i got it. the supid thing is I cxant do anyhitng until I fix this damn problem.

lone_wolf

  • Pul
  • *
  • Posts: 5687
  • Member of the Crystal Obsidian army
    • My site for the grail
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2005, 08:15:52 PM »
post on another forum taking up problems with meshes/cursor.nif

mayby it can help you

http://www.elderscrolls.com/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=2980840&Main=2980813

good luck EDIT: dont try this until you got more feedback :o  you dont want to uninstall everything if you can solve it by doing something else :wink:
Currently playing what you see in my xfire profile



TheMikrobe

  • Dol
  • *
  • Posts: 1653
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2005, 08:53:24 PM »
I've had that error message a couple of times but not very often, I think when opening chests and things, I guess it's a problem with the pointer.

My game has crashed but then when I restarted again it worked :doh!: Don't really know why
Signature: 

Between every two rational moments there are an infinite number of irrational ones.

Pixelated

  • Discombobulated Pixie
  • Jah
  • *
  • Posts: 19152
  • Looking for a recombobulation area
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2005, 09:47:52 PM »
Yeah, it's a corrupted game. A complete uninstall/reinstall *may* fix it.

The cursor.nif file is is on the Construction Set CD (it's a 640 byte file) so you can *try* copying it from:

(using F: as CD drive - change as needed)

F:\Data Files\Meshes\cursor.nif

to:

C:\Program Files\Bethesda Softworks\Morrowind\Data Files\Meshes

That will put a hard copy on the drive and the game should find it automatically when it runs again. If not, then you'll have to resort to the uninstall. Essentially, the file should be resident in memory when the game runs, but in your case, it's just not there. Try my method to "trick" it.
2014 Game Completion Challenge: 15/15

Aim low. Less chance of disappointment. More chance of a nutshot.


If you don't have idiot friends, it's possible you are the idiot friend.

Corpsie

  • Punk'd
  • Pul
  • *
  • Posts: 5171
  • G'Day Mate
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2005, 10:00:16 PM »
I had to reinstall.

Pixelated

  • Discombobulated Pixie
  • Jah
  • *
  • Posts: 19152
  • Looking for a recombobulation area
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2005, 10:01:49 PM »
Had to... or just went ahead and did anyway? Did you try copying the cursor.nif file over first? I'm curious to know so that when this happens again to someone I know how to advise them. ;)
2014 Game Completion Challenge: 15/15

Aim low. Less chance of disappointment. More chance of a nutshot.


If you don't have idiot friends, it's possible you are the idiot friend.

Corpsie

  • Punk'd
  • Pul
  • *
  • Posts: 5171
  • G'Day Mate
Cursor.Nif ?
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2005, 10:04:12 PM »
I reinstalled before you posted. :wink:

EDIT: The real question is how did it happen in teh first place?

All I did was put some new Plugins on, didnt even get to try them thanks to this.  :cry: